Suriname signed the Treaty of Tlatelolco on 13 February 1976, ratified the Treaty on 10 June 1977, and on that same date presented its declaration of exemption to the requirements indicated in Article 29, paragraph 2, of the Treaty of Tlatelolco.

Suriname signed a Nuclear Safeguards Agreement with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on 2 February 1979 in accordance with Article 13 of the Treaty of Tlatelolco.

Suriname succeeded to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) on 30 June 1976 in London.

Suriname signed the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) on 14 January 1997 and ratified it on 7 February 2006.

External link:

Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs of Suriname