OPANAL



Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean

General Conference

XXVIII Session 3 November 2023 Agenda Item 19 CG/Res.19/2023

Original: Spanish/English

Resolution

Election of three Member States of the Council for the period 2024-2027

The General Conference,

Bearing in mind Article 10, paragraph 2 of the Treaty for the for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean – Treaty of Tlatelolco;

Considering that three Members of the Council, those being Belize, Honduras and Nicaragua, which were elected through Resolution CG/Res.02/2019, will conclude their mandates on 31 December 2023;

Having received the candidacies of Argentina, Mexico and Panama to occupy the three vacancy positions on the Council for the period 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2027;

Considering that the Members of the Council, along with the Secretary-General, ensure the proper functioning of the Control System and carry out the functions conferred to it by the Treaty of Tlatelolco and the General Conference.

Resolves:

- 1. **To acknowledge** with thanks the effective work carried out by the Governments of Belize, Honduras and Nicaragua, as Members of the Council of OPANAL.
- 2. **To elect**, by acclamation, the Governments of Argentina, Mexico and Panama as Members of the Council of OPANAL, for a four-year period covering from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2027.