Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean



General Dist.

CG/596 4 October 2005.

XIX Regular Session of the General Conference Agenda Item 17 Santiago, Republic of Chile, 7-8 November, 2005.

ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

MEMORANDUM OF THE SECRETARY GENERAL

- 1. Article 10 of the Treaty of Tlatelolco stipulates that the "Council shall be composed of five Members of the Agency elected by the General Conference from among the Contracting Parties, due account being taken of equitable geographic distribution," that " the Members of the Council shall be elected for a term of four years," and finally that "outgoing Members may not be re-elected for the following period."
- 2. The Council currently comprises Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala and Peru.
- 3. Chile and Ecuador finish their mandate as Council Members on 31 December 2005, as they were elected at the XVII Regular Session of the General Conference by Resolution CG/Res.417 (XVII) for a four-year period beginning on 1 January 2002.
- 5. The General Conference must therefore elect two Member States for a four-year period to replace the Governments of Chile and Ecuador.