Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean



General Dist.

CG/602 20 October 2005.

XIX Regular Session of the General Conference Agenda Item 21 Santiago, Chile, 7-8 November, 2005.

ELECTION OF THE SECRETARY GENERAL

- Article 11 of the Treaty of Tlatelolco establishes that "The Secretariat shall consist of a Secretary General, who shall be the chief administrative officer of the Agency, and of such staff as the Agency may require. The term of office of the Secretary General shall be four years and he may be re-elected for a single additional term. The Secretary General may not be a national of the country in which the Agency has its headquarters."
- 2. Ambassador Edmundo Vargas Carreño, the Agency's current Secretary General, was elected at the XV Special Session of the General Conference by Resolution CG/E/Res.406 (E-XV), of 15 March 2001, for the period from 1 June to 31 December 2001, in order to comply with Article 11, paragraph 1 of the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco). The Secretary General's election was extended through 31 December 2005, based on Article 9, paragraph 2, subparagraph c) of the Treaty. Consequently, the current Secretary General will conclude his term at the end of this year.
- 3. The General Conference at its XIX Regular Session must elect a Secretary General to assume office on 1 January 2006 and conclude on 30 June 2009.
- 4. The Government of the Republic of Chile, through its Embassy in Mexico, in diplomatic note, presented the candidature of Ambassador Vargas Carreño for reelection as Secretary General.